Bamberg, Round II

3 10 2011

I twisted my ankle on a trail run Saturday morning, but took the train to Bamberg anyway. When I got there I realized I simply wasn’t going to be able to walk around, so I made another try today. Spent some time looking around an enormous flea market and foolishly passed up a gorgeous vintage crocodile handbag, but came home with a beautiful old pillow case with handmade lace as a consolation prize. But the really great part was St. Michael’s church. I’m not normally a fan of cathedrals, but the ceiling of this one is decorated with intricate botanical paintings. I didn’t get a good photo, but trust me.

On the way back to the car, via a second round of the flea market, Caroline and I came to a dead-end at the river, but were rewarded with this view in the late afternoon sunshine. What a great day and my ankle is much better too.

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 10 2011
Mollyavalon

Who’s Caroline?
Why no pic of the crocodile bag, for crying out loud?
Photo of the pillowcase, please?
Beautiful ceiling! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michaelsberg_Abbey,_Bamberg

4 10 2011
Art Vandelay

Great picture! Glad you’ve got the ankle and camera working and really happy you are back in the blogging groove.

Good luck Tuesday! Will keep you in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

