Auf Wiedersehen

2 10 2011

Tucker and Elliott were my neighbors in Lawrence. They always had a joyful greeting for me and I’ll miss them, not to mention Marcia and Marion. The reason that I mention them is that they never said good-bye, only, “Hi! Hi! Hi! I’m so happy to see you!” I suppose there was no reason for a farewell since they had no reason to believe they wouldn’t see me again tomorrow. As I’ve said farewell to so many wonderful people in the last couple of weeks, I’ve come to hope that my friends will adopt the same attitude, though licking isn’t necessary.

I’ve always thought that the meaning of auf wiedersehen was similar to good-bye – a farewell. But Molly explains that the literal translation is more like, “Until we meet again”, which seems much more appropriate right now. Though I’ve said good-bye to lots of friends in the last couple of weeks, I certainly hope that I’ll see everyone again, either in the U.S or here in Germany.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 10 2011
Art Vandelay

I can be available to lick your face in either country. 🙂 Have a magnificent adventure!

3 10 2011
Mollyavalon

I love the picture and the meaning of auf wiedersehen.

I’m looking forward to more posts from you in your new situation.

XO

Leave a Reply

