Public Libraries

3 11 2010

I love public libraries.  I spent lots of time reading books from the library as a kid, and I’m so glad that the excitement of walking out with new books under my arm has never worn off. I still buy too many books, but a trip to the library means finding all sorts of topics that I never would have gone looking for in a book store. Part of the fabulousness of the library is that I don’t have to decide anything. If I feel a little interested, I check it out. I don’t have to find shelf space or move them when I leave this house. I just pile them up on the other side of the bed and thumb through them when I should be sleeping or folding laundry. Here’s what I checked out tonight:

Kafka’s Soup: A Complete History of World Literature in 14 Recipes

Christmas Cookies: 50 Recipes to Treasure for the Holiday Season

The Fine Art of Cabinetmaking by James Krenov

Dining Tables: Outstanding Projects from America’s Best Craftsmen

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 11 2010
claesz

Somewhere in the heavens, Andrew Carnegie is smiling.

24 11 2010
Bedhead

There’s nothing better than the comforting smell of books in a library, and the feel of the nice paper that they’re written on.

Leave a Reply

