Max’s Menorah

30 11 2008

menorah-003

This is the menorah I made for Max. I haven’t made a menorah for her every year, but I’ve made several. My personal favorite was a curvaceous piece of walnut, smoothed and waxed to perfection, nestled into a cigar box lined with sky blue cashmere quilted with silver thread. Wish I’d gotten a photo of it because it caught fire and is no more.

This one is actually not entirely of my making. Walt made the nice curved hook, but it didn’t suit him and he tossed it in the scrap bucket. I salvaged it and it’s been sitting on my cart for several months until I could figure out what to do with it. Actually, I set out to make the one below, but I threw Walt’s scrap in the fire just for kicks and I like it better. I didn’t realize how much it looked like a lamp until I cut it off, squished the end and flipped the corner up.

menorah-004

I’m not wild about this one, so it will go in the scrap heap or become a door stop. I like the way the hot iron squishes and curves with this process, but I should have changed a few things about it. Oh well. It’s a good thing I enjoy the process because I have more failures than successes.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 12 2008
Deb

Why so dismissive of your design? It’s cool! I like the indentations (can’t be thumbprints, but they look like they could be), the nice S curve, and the taper. It doesn’t seem like an either/or thing; Walt’s hook menorah and your alligator menorah are both pieces of art.

4 12 2008
Dale

Max is thrilled. : – )

Leave a Reply

