They Use Pearl Dust?!?

11 04 2008

This is how it goes: I’ve just hung up from a telephone interview for a magazine article I’ve been hired to write and I should be slaving away on it, since it will much easier now, while it’s fresh in my mind. Instead, I’m savoring a few little pieces of Vosges Red Fire Chocolate Bar and thinking about the home mortgage industry and corporate ethics. Because I’d rather read the list of ingredients on a chocolate bar than actually have to think, I discovered that this fantastically flavorful chocolate bar is manufactured in a facility that uses pearl dust. Hmmm, now there’s something you don’t see every day. There are alot of bizarre food additives out there, but this pearl dust thing ought to distract me from my real work for at least another twenty minutes.

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 04 2008
Erin

I swear it’s nothing bad, I’ve used it on lots of cakes…especially Miss Maisy’s birthday cakes. It’s a translucent food powder that adds a shimmer. This the “pearl”.

12 04 2008
Foghorn

Maybe that’s the shimmer that keeps you coming back for more.

Fear not: if it tastes good, it is good.

14 04 2008
Duckie

M, it’s Steve…

email me, foxsp at missouri dot edu

😉

Leave a Reply

