Cursing in Church

21 03 2008

I went to church today – to help with installation of the aforementioned handrail. I spoke the word shit aloud and for no particular reason, other than maybe curiosity about how it would feel to curse in church. It was slightly amusing, but not worth repeating.

 What I’ve really been thinking about today is Rene Descartes. The Wordsmith word of the day was cartesian, a reference to Descartes’ interest in philosophy and its “mechanistic interpretation”. I haven’t really figured out what that means, but I’ll keep working on it.

Descartes was born in France, though he spent much of his life in the Netherlands. Although he earned a law degree at the age of 16, he decided to travel in lieu of a day job, and met a Dutch mathematician along the way who started him thinking about math and physics. We have him to blame for analytic geometry and calculus, along with some very heavy philosophy. It is also alleged that he is responsible for the phrase, “I think, therefore I am.”

I know, more worthless facts, but aren’t you glad you had that little Descartes refresher course?

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 03 2008
foghorn

Hang around in the Netherlands and all kinds of odd things happen.

Sometimes one can even remember what those things were.

22 03 2008
Walt

If I were a 16 year-old lawyer I would probably blow it off and travel, too.

Actually, most people credit Newton and Leibniz with the calculus. But blame DeCartes for graph paper.

23 03 2008
Mollyavalon

I’m interested in the cursing in church part. Nothing happened, eh? Did anyone hear you? I have to think about this some more.

25 03 2008
Walt

Mollyavalon: I was there and can report a bluish tinge to the light, a slight crackling noise, the smell of burning insulation, and a sort of resigned sighing. Where those came from and whether they had anything to do with shit I can’t tell.

Leave a Reply

