NYC, Here I Come!

25 11 2007

Yesss! New York City, here I come!  

It’s been three or four years since I’ve been to Manhattan, my favorite city in the world. I’ve never spent more than two days at a time there, but I’ve always tried to make the most of it. I’ll have almost four full days to be a tourist this visit and here is a list of planned activities: 

1. The Metropolitan Museum of Art – The Age of Rembrandt Exhibit

2. The New York Philharmonic

3. The Museum of Natural History – I’ve never been

4. Takashimaya – a great place to gawk and imagine what I’d buy if I had someone else’s credit card

5. Saks – I need new perfume!

6. Leonidas Chocolates – This is a tough one. Sometimes I go with Teuscher, but I’m in the mood for Leonidas.

7. Ellis Island! I think it’s been about a dozen years since I last visited Ellis Island, but it was memorable and I’d like to see it again. Bobbi, my secretary for the entire twelve years I worked at State Farm, was orphaned before she had a chance to learn much about her parents’ German heritage. I intend to spend a few minutes learning what I can about their entry into the U.S.

8. Carnegie Hall! Another first for me. My friend Kit auditioned at Carnegie Hall in her youth and said it was the most terrifying audition of her life. She’s about 5’2” but she can bellow like the finest opera diva. Helluva cyclist too.

9. Lots of walking, some subway and cab travel, Thai food, plenty of window shopping, maybe a visit to the American Museum of Arts & Crafts?

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 11 2007
Walt

Spend the perfume money on more chocolates.

26 11 2007
gockow

I agree with Walt. Also, I want you to consider going here too, since I can’t. Muji

3 12 2007
Shawn

Loving a city based on 2-3 day trips is how I got so excited about moving to Chicago. 😦 I think the rule should be that you have to spend 2 weeks somewhere when you planned (and packed) for one. Only then can you say it’s your favorite.

For me, NYC failed this test, as did New Orleans and Paris. San Francisco and Amsterdam passed with flying colors. London would if I was richer.

Leave a Reply

