Fried Oysters and Velvet Gowns

25 11 2007

I often use this when I’m writing an article and can’t come up with a good title or heading. This one is a good reminder to come back and correct. It’s from Archy and Mehitabel. Has anyone out there read this book recently? It’s such fun: “wotthehell, Archy, wotthehell”.

But back to what I was going to say, which was that I can’t decide what I ought to blog about – again. So I thought I’d stick in my little Fried Oysters and Velvet Gowns cue in the hopes that I might wake up in the morning feeling inspired and ready to write something clever in place of this entry. Maybe if I get a very early start, I can replace this and no one will ever be the wiser. You know, wotthehell, Archy.

Or maybe I could tell you about my trip to The Plaza in Kansas City this afternoon. It was very nostalgic and I stopped by Figlio, just to see if it had changed. I’ve had about 100 meals with good friends there and it hasn’t changed a bit. It was both comforting and sad. So many miles covered since then.

OK, OK, I have the answer. I hope this isn’t copyright infringement, especially since I’ve already used it in a cookbook. I’ll take my chances since I think you’ll like it and the author, Don Marquis, has long since moved on to other things.

Between the ages of ninety-two and a hundred and two, however, we shall be the ribald, useless, drunken, outcast person we have always wished to be. We shall have a long white beard and long white hair; we shall not walk at all, but recline in a wheel chair and bellow for alcoholic beverages; in the winter we shall sit before the fire with our feet in a bucket of hot water, a decanter of corn whiskey near at hand, and write ribald songs against organized society; strapped to one arm of our chair will be a forty-five caliber revolver, and we shall shoot out the lights when we want to go to sleep, instead of turning them off; when we want air we shall throw a silver candlestick through the front window and be damned to it; we shall address public meetings (to which we have been invited because of our wisdom) in a vein of jocund malice. We shall…but we don’t wish to make any one envious of the good time that is coming to us…We look forward to a disreputable, vigorous, unhonoured, and disorderly old age.          

-Don Marquis, The Almost Perfect State, (1927)

Actions

Information

One response

28 11 2007
marie

Don Marquis is my favorite author – its always nice to see his work….

Leave a Reply

