Need Your Lawn Moved?

9 11 2007

That was carefully typed in big block letters, underlined, on a flyer left on my porch this summer. Here is what it really said: NEED YOUR LAWN MOVED?  CALL AND ASK FOR JESUS.

Well, if I’m going to get Jesus on the line, there are a few miracles higher on the list than relocating my yard. Namely, world peace, a nice hot supper for everyone on the planet, a reliable wireless signal, a one week limit on Christmas, comfortable high heels and new brakes for my cyclocross bike. I’m sure there are other things, but that’s what comes to mind in the few minutes I have.

I called the phone number and got myself a wonderfully friendly, industrious yard guy who speaks just enough English to get my address and thank me for the work, which isn’t quite as fabulous as a direct line to Jesus, but it’s pretty darned good.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

