Heidi’s Stud Farm

8 11 2007

Lest you think I don’t read the real news, I want to point out that I had to work my way through lawyers protesting in Pakistan and continued chaos in Iraq before I got to the piece on Heidi Fleiss in yesterday’s New York Times. I’ve never been particularly interested in her, but the title, “With Brothel Plans Delayed, A Madam Does Laundry” just nabbed my attention. It turns out that she’s started up a laundry mat as a means of keeping the bills paid until she can get her brothel going in Nevada. Not just any brothel, but one with male prostitutes serving women.

As I think about it, the whole thing seems like a fine idea, even if I’m not inclined to travel there myself. What I was really impressed with though, is her tenacity. After spending three years in prison for all those little boo-boo’s associated with her career as “The Hollywood Madam”, she’s sold sweat pants, written a book, worked as a promoter for some sort of sex business in Australia, and now she’s trying to put her expertise to work. We all have a talent or skill, and I love the fact that she recognizes hers and she’ll make the most out of it if the good ole boys will just get out of her way.

“I really do know the sex business better than anyone,” she said in an interview near a washing machine. “I’m not saying that to be arrogant.” And I’m just sorry that she had to add that apology at the end of the statement. Of course, she had to because all the men who will decide whether she gets a brothel license would bust her chops if they caught the faintest whiff of arrogance.

So, as the season of giving approaches, let’s all send a donation to Heidi Fleiss. She’s doing her best to get back on her feet and I think she could use a hand. Are there any lawyers out there who would be willing to do some pro bono work? Maybe you could barter.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 11 2007
Walt

“Fleiss” is German (and, I suppose, Yiddish) for “industry, busy-ness, willingness to undertake,” etc. I will forego the obvious pun on “pro bono.”

13 01 2008
GregZ

No way women are going to pay men for sex! Gimme a break.

Leave a Reply

