Mangiare

3 11 2007

 WARNING: Totally Un-PC Content! May be offensive and inappropriate for those with any tact whatsoever.

The topic of food is becoming a little tiresome, even for me, but I’m scraping the bottom of the barrel on inspiration today. So, since today was the homecoming football game for KU, I think I’ll point out this little irony. I’m fascinated by the KU football coach, Mark Mangino. He’s the head coach of a successful college football team, but I cannot look at him without thinking of Jabba The Hut from Star Wars. He must weigh well over 400 pounds, and there is a popular t-shirt sold here in town that says, “Our Coach is Fatter Than Your Coach”. (I know, I know, it’s very unkind, but I’m just saying…)

But the irony is his name. I know I’m getting way out there, but his last name is Mangino and the Italian word for eating is mangiare. It’s just that shared root of mangi and the thought of how much food one must consume daily to maintain such immense body mass.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

