More Music

14 10 2007

I no sooner finished my Rocket Man entry than one of the neighbor kids started practicing his new saxophone in the back yard. He must have just started in band this year, because this is an entirely new noise in the ‘hood. God I love this jam packed urban setting. He’s struggling through Three Blind Mice, complete with long pauses and several reed squawks.

I lived at the LA Biltmore for a month in the mid ’90’s after the Northridge earthquake and I took an old clarinet, thinking I would learn to play it. I learned flute, piccolo and oboe in high school, so how hard can it be – right??? Well, let me just say that I can sympathize with the neighbor kid’s struggles and I wish him luck.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

