The Beach Report

23 08 2007

After nearly a week at the beach, I’ve determined that I need a minimum of two weeks here every summer. It’s taken most of the first week to forget every professional lesson I’ve ever learned, and the second week is probably needed to erase everything else. I’m sure another week here would allow me to forget everything but the proportions for a good gin and tonic, and how to operate the ATM.

On the upside, I’m learning alot about rip currents and tide patterns. It turns out that high and low tides are driven by the combined gravitational pull of sun and moon, along with some other factors that, based on my readers’ responses to the math and science entries, they probably don’t want to hear about. (Don’t worry, I’ll bore you to death with it over lunch.) However, if you really want to know, check out: http://www.oceanservice.noaa.gov/education/kits/tides/tides07_cycles.html or http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tide

You’re going to love those sites and you’ll be able to read them with a serious and intent look on your face while you’re pretending to work on what you’re paid to do. However, I think on-site research is necessary as well. After a fabulous splash in the powerful waves this morning, we went for a long walk on the beach, picking up shells and pointing at the dolphins playing in the water just out of reach.

I’m currently working on the first cocktail of the evening, which will lead to a trip to Jordan’s Restaurant and a heap of seafood. It’s a tough way to live, but I’m gutting it out.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

